Pemarro Recovery Detox Center Becomes Part of Stepping Stone

2 years ago

Beginning May 2020, Pemarro Recovery Center has become a part of the Stepping Stone family of services in an effort to strengthen and grow Pemarro’s life-saving programs.   Stepping Stone, a leader in drug and alcohol treatment, provides services specializing in the LGBTQ community. Their services include outpatient treatment services, residential treatment services and sober living residences.  

As a member of the Stepping Stone family, Pemarro will remain an independent nonprofit organization with its own staff and continue its mission to provide medically monitored detox services to those seeking recovery.  

Stepping Stone will provide leadership and administrative support to Pemarro including Cheryl Houk who will also serve as executive director of Pemarro. A new board of directors was also appointed as part of the transition.  

“Pemarro and Stepping Stone have long had a close and supportive relationship, so when the Pemarro board of directors decided to look for the best path for the future of the organization, and its mission to provide alcohol and drug treatment, Stepping Stone was the best choice,” said Peter Stafford, departing president of the board of Pemarro. “Several factors made it the Best Choice: (1) they would utilize the Pemarro facility to enhance their existing programs; (2) the compatibility of the two programs benefits a continuum of care; and (3) we had watched the renewed energy that Stepping Stone’s staff and board had brought to them and believed that leadership would benefit Pemarro.” 

Michael Moore, Stepping Stone Board Chair and new President of Pemarro Board, emphasized this point: “We are grateful for the trust placed in us to continue Pemarro’s legacy, and the opportunity to introduce more clients to this life-saving program.  Pemarro’s board has been incredibly committed to providing a critical first step in many people’s recovery and we thank them for their service to this mission.”

Michael Moore is joined on the board by Theresa Brennan, John Hall, Kate Judd and Jack Steenstra on the newly formed board.